Highbrow Roofing
Highbrow Roofing

Comments

Please enter the code
* Required fields
  • Sue Bradley (Wednesday, May 03 17 10:48 am BST)

    Happy you had us? We certainly are. Ian and Chris came with a recommendation and they have more than lived up to expectations. We have had longstanding problems with a leak and numerous people 'fixed' it over the years. Ian explains everything clearly, backs it up with photos before and after. They both worked hard, did a neat and effective job and tidied up after themselves. Totally happy and would totally recommend them to anyone needing roofing services. Only problem is they are too popular and too busy! Unsurprisingly.

  • Charlie Salter (Monday, September 12 16 12:43 pm BST)

    We contacted Ian as we had had a succession of poor quality roofing work and needed some specialist lead work undertaken and a hopper fitted to our Georgian house. We were immediately impressed with
    the quality of craftsmanship displayed on his web site and, in talking to him, with his knowledge and expertise. Ian was willing to undertake a relatively small job. He and his son Chris took pride
    in their work, forming and welding lead to a very high standard. They were punctual, tidy and completed work within the agreed timescale. We would certainly want to use them again and would not
    hesitate to recommend them.

  • Paul Glands (Thursday, August 04 16 10:50 am BST)

    Great work and friendly service as always. Thanks very much

  • Richard Owen (Monday, August 01 16 04:52 pm BST)

    Ian and Chris did a very neat job welding in some new lead strips to fix defective flashing on my extension roof. They are organised, tidy and efficient and a pleasure to deal with.

  • Mr and Mrs Davies (Sunday, June 12 16 05:39 pm BST)

    We were absolutely delighted with the services of Ian and his team at Highbrow Roofing. An old Victorian drainpipe which had been patched up by amateur cowboys and also had sitting water at the base
    was removed in record speed and a completely new pipe was installed during the same afternoon. We would both endorse their services to other potential clients. A friendly, fast and most reliable
    service.

  • Sara Browne (Tuesday, October 20 15 04:02 pm BST)

    Ian and his team came highly recommended. I was not disappointed. They arrived when they said they would. We're extremely efficient and courteous. They explained everything in detail and made
    sedition a on the bill where they could. They did extra work for no charge and most importantly my roof does not leak anymore.

  • Jo Pennington (Wednesday, August 19 15 10:57 am BST)

    Ian and his team have recently done a very meticulous and professional job on repair works to our roof and guttering. They were very easy to have around and cleared up well after their work. I would
    recommend them highly.

  • Jane Deane (Monday, August 17 15 08:21 am BST)

    Ian and Chris did my bathroom about a year and a half ago. I was - and still am - very pleased with it. I asked them to come back and do my kitchen and they have done it beautifully. The work has
    been done to a very high standard and has been built to last. It is exactly what I wanted.Ian and Chris are very professional in their attitude to being in somebody elses house. I would never choose
    to have any other company.

  • Chris Longridge (Saturday, August 08 15 10:17 am BST)

    Ian and his team were quick, friendly, professional and did a great job. We're very happy with our new garage roof.

  • Nicola Burke (Friday, February 27 15 04:28 am GMT)

    Excellent and friendly service at a reasonable price. I would not hesitate yo use again and I would strongly recommend. Ian and his team were a delight - great job done!

 

Siamak Tannazi

Tuesday February 3 10.18pm

Ian and his team were very knowledgeable and quickly identified the poor
workmanship from previous builders who worked for previous owner.  They
took the time to explain and show what was wrong and how they could
correct it and kept me informed at all stages.  very professional
attitude and hard working.
 
Nick B S.E.25
 Monday January 12 20.44pm BST
 
Ian, Chris and Larry fitted 3 Velux windows into my previously dim and dark loft conversion. I am really impressed by their professionalism and quality of workmanship. Having them in the house while the work was undertaken was a pleasure - my mother even commented on how pleasant it was to hear them working together as a team.

I am happy that the team highlighted potential maintenance issues. This has lead to the remediation of a couple of problems that would have haunted me in the future had they not been addressed.

I can thoroughly and whole heartedly recommend Highbrow Roofing for your roofing needs!

D Pearson, SW15

LEAD WORK

Sunday, September 28 14 08:26 pm BST)

Ian at Highbrow Roofing undertook welded lead patch repairs and tile cutting/replacement in Sep '14. This was a small job but he found time to price it up and carry out the work very promptly. I was pleased with the quality of the work and would use Highbrow's services again.

DAVID MICKLEM
ROOFING GENERAL
DATE OF JOB 04/08/2014
Excellent work from the incredibly hard-working team of Ian and Chris.
Our London roof, bodged 10 years ago by cowboys, is now rebuilt,
watertight and very smartly done. I would completely recommend these
guys - very pleasant, trustworthy, professional.

Neville Harris

Work carried out: Roofing(General)(Monday, June 30 14 05:07 pm BST

These guys have just finished my roof in SE12 and I think they have done a really great job overcoming all the problems met along the way. Just as importantly, they are courteous, trustworthy, tidy and work incredibly hard. Couldn't be happier.

Reviewed by Jane on Apr 15, 2014
Work carried out: Bathroom Installation
Date of job: 12.04.2014
Excellent work
Ian and Chris listened to what I wanted to have done. The work is of excellent quality and looks stunning. I am so pleased with it, the ideas that I had in my mind are now in my bathroom. Ian and Chris were very respectful of my home while they were working and always cleaned up before they finished work for the day.
Reviewed by Les and Louise on Feb 24, 2014
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 21.02.2014

Superb Service
Ian and Chris gave us excellent advice, carried out the work quickly and efficiently, and seem to have solved our leak problems. Highly recommended!
Reviewed by Elliot on Jan 13, 2014
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 06.01.2014
Very good service all round
Very helpful and did the work when they said they would do the work. Scaffolding was put up and came down when they said it would happen. Quality of repair was excellent.
 
Reviewed by mary rose on Dec 29, 2013
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 20.11.2013
 
Ian and Chris are really nice to deal with and did a great job.
Reviewed by Philip and Ruth Rollitt on Dec 15, 2013
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 15.12.2013
Roofing work
We found Ian and Christ most kind, polite, efficient and delightful and are thrilled with their beautiful work on our leaking roof.
Reviewed by
Marcus Hilton on Sep 4, 2013
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 28.08.2013

Roof work done and completed on friends house
Ian & Chris did their usual sterling work on our friends
house after some very reliable and professional work done on our own roof!!
Would recommend very highly for any work concerned with roof work on any type of
propety!! Very, very satisfied as always!!
Reviewed by Mark Williams on Sep 1, 2013
Work carried out: Metal Work
Date of job: 23.07.2013
bespoke handmade lead rainwater pipes
Ian made and fitted some bespoke lead rainwater pipes. He makes them from sheet, absolutely beautifully welded and finished. Wonderful and beautifully made brackets. It was quite simply a fabulous job.   If you need something similar, at what I thought was a sensible cost, then Ian is your man.   As you can see from previous reviews I am a huge fan after he roofed our 1770 listed Georgian town house. His roofing work makes him an ace brill lead worker. This job was no different; I continue to most definitely have him on my A-list of builders. The magic of what he does is that he does his best to get you want you want, or leads you there with sensible suggestions for a better end result!  I have emailed Ian pictures to include on this site so you can see how beautifully finished these items are.
Reviewed by Isabel Cole on May 13, 2013
Work carried out: Roofing (Flat)
Date of job: 15.04.2013
Second time as good as the first
In the last 5 years or so I have used Highbrow Roofing twice to resurface a flat roof on a Victorian house - in lead on my own property and recently on a rental.  On both occasions I have been very impressed with the standard of workmanship and commitment to doing the job properly.  This time, Ian and Chris had to contend with the roof having been very poorly resurfaced 3 or 4 times before without the previous coverings having been removed. This was a shocker but I had every confidence they would put everything right for the long term for a reasonable price.  They are reliable, honest and very nice people - I have no hesitation in highly recommending them to anyone in need of roofing services.
Reviewed by Beryl & Alan Guy on Apr 22, 2013
Work carried out: Roofing (Flat)
Date of job: 22.03.2013
Professional work eventhough the temperature was below freezing
Grand job by Ian & Chris after stripping the old roof they found loads of shoddy work done by a cowboy builder. Not only did they do the roofing required they also put right the work the cowboy had done. It is lovely I have 2 skylight windows now which can open in the hot weather and they also let so much light in I sometimes think I have left a light on. Thank you Ian & Chris
Reviewed by Martin Thomposn on Mar 18, 2013
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 05.03.2013
Repair to Victorian Roofing
Job was well done in the minimum of time. Delightful to work with a professional company. Results excellent - no more leaks from areas repaired.
Reviewed by Peter Schmidt on Feb 28, 2013
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 20.10.2012
Excellent, competent service
I had a long running problem (leak) with my flat roof. Ian and Chris were able to get to the bottom of the problem and sort it out. They provided an excellent and professional service as well as high standards of workmanship. Highly recommended
Reviewed by Marcus Hilton on Jan 22, 2013
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 01.08.2012
Amazing, Professional work
Both Ian and Chris can not be faulted for their wonderful work ethic. They completed the designated work, found more faults and continued to repair and renew old very bad workmanshop from the 1950's. All problems hidden for 60+ years but rectified with the least amount of fuss!! We would deffinately recommend Highbrow Roofing for any neccessary roof work but would prefer to keep them on our own personal pay roll for ever!!
Reviewed by Helen Jones on Aug 23, 2012
Work carried out: Gutter and Roof Maintenance
Date of job: 23.07.2012
 
Highbrow roofing were professional, courteous,dependable and flexible being adaptable to change in circumstances.
Reviewed by D Tsang on Jul 5, 2012
Work carried out: 24-7 Emergency Callout
Date of job: 16.06.2012
Excellent and efficient work
Highbrow Roofing came immediately to diagnose the cause of leaking and remedied the problem the following day.  The work was extremely professional and efficient and the team are friendly and helpful.  First class work.
Reviewed by Mark Williams on Jun 4, 2012
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 07.05.2012
Further roofing work
Chris and Ian returned to undertake further roofing work for me. Again, great job - caring and taking pride in their work, thinking about the end result and  very hardworking. Once again, I found then reliable, straight-talking and trustworthy. 10's all round on my review.
Reviewed by Mark Woodruff on Apr 11, 2012
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 10.04.2012
New rear roof
Ian and Chris have done a superb job. What began as the replacement of a smaller area of degraded synthetic slates, revealed earlier bad workmanship in the whole of the rear roof, a poorly installed roof light and a wrongly felted valley that had left the house effectively unwaterproofed. It turned into a much larger job than expected, but thanks to Ian some big problems have been uncovered, the threat of considerable damage and there is now a fine slate roof in which I have every confidence. Ian and Chris were a pleasure to have around, took pics of all the problems they encountered, explained the options for what needed doing in terms I could relate to and generally inspired confidence. I would warmly recommend Highbrow Roofing.
Reviewed by James F Hall on Feb 23, 2012
Work carried out: 24-7 Emergency Callout
Date of job: 04.01.2012
Leak in roof and flood kitchen ceiling
Work carried out to a very high standard.  Diagnosis  of problem was quickly made and work carried out promptly.  The problem has not re-occurred.  Service was efficient and of a high quality.  Would most definitely recommend to friends and colleagues.  Charges were reasonable for work carried out.  Turned up on time and focussed on completing work.
 
 
Reviewed by c ratcliffe on Dec 14, 2011
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 08.12.2011
Complete re-roofing
Ian completely re-roofed our main roof and the back extension as well as putting some roof windows in and replacing all the guttering, and doing a few other things that needed doing outside (basically sorting out all the outside of the house above window level).    He was very willing to always find the best way to do things (not the quickest or easiest) and listened to what we wanted to do rather than just doing what was easiest or cheapest for him.  He also carried out a lot of annoying extra bits that cropped up at a reasonable price and again in the best way.  I would not hesitate to recommend him.
Reviewed by Mark Williams on Nov 28, 2011
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 09.10.2011
New Roof to a mid-terrace Grade II Listed House
The job was the new roof covering to a mid-terraced Grade II listed Georgian town house. The new roof used traditional clay pantiles and plain tiles, and a large flat lead roof. Also responsible for the timberwork forming the valley gutters and supporting structure for the flat lead roof.  Excellent workmanship, with attention to detail and genuine pride being taken in every aspect.   Exemplary lead work & a high standard of workmanship overall.   The roof not only looks wonderful, but functions perfectly.  On a personal note, I found them hardworking, reliable, straight-talking and trustworthy. They worked to an estimate and extras were justified and reasonably priced.   In summary, I would highly recommend Ian and Chris to undertake new roof works or re-roofing, leadwork and roofing repairs.
Reviewed by mark stimson on Aug 25, 2011
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 25.08.2011
Repairs to Dormer Windows on Grade II* Listed Building
The dormer windows of my house were leaking and channelling water over the face of the windows and into the structure of the mansard roof. As a result, there was a lot of rot in the window frames & structure and the internal plaster was damaged by the water coming in. Ian was recommended to me as someone who works to a very high standard and who understands the issues involved in the repair & restoration of historic buildings. The work he has carried out proves this to be the case.  The quality of his work is superb and the repairs have been carried out with the sympathy for the building that is essential for work to a listed structures. Ian was able to solve all the problems when he re-made the leadwork without altering the appearance or character of the structures. The work was competed quickly (once it the weather allowed the works to start) and Ian and Chris were a pleasure to have on site. I would highly recommend Ian for the quality of his work and for his understanding of historic building restoration.
Reviewed by Ray Phillips on Jul 21, 2011
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 21.07.2011
Roofing, lead work, metal work and sign installataion
Ian and Chris did a fair amount of work for me over the last three weeks. repaired the lead flash on my roof, installed solid, secure metal gates to the alley at the side of my house, repaired some chimneys and installed a sign in my garden. The work carried out was far more than just roofing.  They were great. Turned up when they said they would. Really friendly and hard-working. The jobs were done to time and to quote (they were very reasonable compared to the other quotes I got). They did exactly as I asked (previous builders had taken the 'mick' a little by doing things slightly differently to my specification) and didn't treat me like an idiot.  What really impressed was that they were obviously proud of their work, with bloody good reason. They went the extra mile and I was well-pleased with the results.  I would definitely recommend them.
Reviewed by william on Nov 27, 2010
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 05.11.2010
Very high quality work - professional, trustworthy outfit
Ian and his son recently completed a comprehensive roof replacement for us. The project was a complicated and unpredictable one, working on a very old house with all sorts of hidden problems uncovered as the work progressed. He was consistently honest, straight-talking, and reasonable in dealing with this unpredictability. But most of all they completed the job to a very high standard with an obviously very high attention to detail and beautiful level of finishing. We are very proud of our new roof and would recommend Ian and the Highbrow crew to anyone looking for high quality work on their roof.
Reviewed by R Savva on Nov 1, 2010
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 13.09.2010
Courteous craftsmanship
Ian quoted us for some general roof repairs, to be done around the fitting of some new windows in the loft extension that needed to be chased in with lead-work. Working with Chris, Ian finished the lead detail to an excellent standard, despite finding that they had to adapt to some unexpected situations along the way. Always professional and courteous, along with a humourous touch, the job was finished with only a small added cost to the original estimate: Ian literally went out of his way (several miles by car) to source new materials needed for the unexpected work, at the best possible price, when his usual suppliers' prices had appeared unreasonable. Along with their tidiness and willingness to talk through all aspects of what they were doing, we were very satisfied that we were in the company of true craftsmen. We'll have no hesitation using Highbrow in future, and agree with their t-shirt slogan: "Happy With Highbrow". Thanks, and well done, Ian and Chris.
Reviewed by willi richards on Jul 2, 2010
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 26.02.2010
roof on historic house
Highbrow Roofing company, headed by Ian, was a pleasure to work with on what was a very complex  restoration project. Ian listened well and did exactly what he said he would do, for the money he quoted. Any extras we decided on were also carried out at reasonable cost and the highest of standards. The officers from English Heritage and the local conservation team in the borough were extremely happy with the standard of work. Ian was also very good at working alongside other people involved in the restoration of the windows and brickwork.He is excellent.
Reviewed by Dr J Morley on May 3, 2010
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 14.04.2010

A good job done
Ian has recently replaced our main roof.   I have a lot of confidence that he has done a good job.   He was highly recommended to us and I had the impression from our discussions on the detail that he was taking great care to do a good job.  He built a good working relationship with the local authority building surveyor, and ensured that the work met the building regulations.   Work started on the agreed date, and continued, every day the weather was dry, until the roof was complete.    Everything was left clean and tidy at the end of the job.    This was not a 'cheap' job, but I believe it was a job well done, and I feel we have had 'value for money'.   I have no hesitation in recommending Ian to others.
Reviewed by Jay on Jan 23, 2010
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 17.01.2010

Quick, polite and courteous
We needed to have the stairs and flat roof over our basement flat re-asphalted. The job had to be done on a Sunday because of parking restrictions, and Ian was willing to come on that day. Ian was punctual, prompt and polite. He worked quickly and the finished job looks great. We hope that his work has sorted out the damp problem in our hallway (we will know for sure in a few weeks' time). I would recommend Ian as he was honest and professional- he offered to come back if there were problems.
Reviewed by The Methodist Church - Brixton on Aug 21, 2009
Work carried out: Roofing (General)
Date of job: 10.08.2009 
Highbrow means high standard
Highbrow Roofing were recommended to us as we needed a roofer to look at a problem at a house occupied by one of our clergy. The initial problem was identified when Squirrels were found in the loft space.   Highbrow Roofing gave a date and time when they would show up to look at the problem and give an estimate. They arrived exactly at the time they said. They provided a fully costed estimate with two options for us to choose from including comprehensive photgraphs of the problem.   Despite having to delay the start date because bad weather had held up other work, they kept us fully informed of the new start date. During the time they were at the property, they kept us fully informed on progress and provided detailed written information to highlight the need for a small amount of additional work which needed to be done with costings. Although they had access to the property, they took shoes off to enter and only entered and used any facilities after asking.  In all their dealings they were very polite and  professional. They cleared up after work each day and on completion of the work they swept and cleared everything. They also kept us fully informed concerning the scaffolding firm as to when they would be on site to do their work.   We are very pleased with the work they did, which was to a high standard, combined with value for money and good service.    A.C. Kirkwood (The Methodist Church - Brixton)
 


Call

E-mail

Directions